The town of Nagcarlan in Laguna isn’t only known for its cooler weather, being at an elevated area and at the foot of Mt. San Cristobal. It is not only known as the church where the local TV series was filmed, Ang Kampanerang Kuba, but more importantly, it is known for its unique cemetery with an underground crypt and inscribed as National Historical Landmark in 1973.
Built in 1845 by Fray Vicente Velloc, a Franciscan, the cemetery faces the east with a beautiful grand entrance gate. The fence is octagonal, similar to the shape of the cemetery chapel at the opposite end. Flanking the facade of the chapel are 276 niches. When it was built, it was intended to be the towns burial grounds while the crypt was reserved for the Spanish friars and local elites.
The overall style is baroque and this can readily be seen at the facade of the chapel with its flanking volutes at the pediment and blind round windows. The front is crowned with an espadana, an uncommon architectural feature in Philippine heritage structures. Although it has similarities with the cemetery chapel of Vigan which sports the same feature.