The kumbento of Carcar Church is one of the biggest in Cebu, a testament to its wealth in a prosperous town. The masonry and wood structure was built, probably around 1885, during the term of Fr. Mauel Fernandez Rubio, an Augustinian friar who has done much for the town. He was also the one who finished the church in 1875, painted the ceilings, had two bells cast (dated 1880 and 1882) as well as constructed the road leading to the beach.
The photos used in this series were taken between 2005 and 2008 as the author visits this church from time to time. Special thanx to Lorens Gibb Lapinid for the assistance in 2008.
It is 33 meters long and 26 meters wide and when it was finished, it has galvanized iron roofing. Like the one in Sibonga, the next town, it is built separate from the church but is in line with the façade. Large windows covered with wrought iron grills are located at the first floor which is made of masonry. The second floor, made of wood, also has large windows with translucent capiz shells in grids making up the sliding panels. Below these are ventanillas. The detail and care that went into its construction is amazing. It is to appreciate sites such as this that many tourists book their airline tickets to Cebu. Admirers of architecture are spoiled when they visit the Carcar Church kumbento.
Fascinating architectural details are located just below the roof. Here, several wooden panels depict many Augustinian symbols that are shown in the gallery below.